Branch County Staying With Five Commission Districts
By: Mike Stiles - Saturday, October 23, 2021

(photo courtesy of Branch County Apportionment Commission)

(COLDWATER) – There will be no changes to the number of districts in Branch County.

However, the boundaries to those District will be a little different.

The Branch County Apportionment Commission met Friday afternoon and voted 5-0 to keep the number of County districts and County Commissioners at five. Branch County Prosecutor Zach Stempien sat on the Apportionment Commission and said they presented five maps to be considered. Three of the maps kept the number of Districts and County Commissioners at five while two proposals saw the number of Districts and Commissioners increase to seven.

Stempien says District 1 would be most of the City of Coldwater. District 2 would be a portion of the City of Coldwater along with Girard and Coldwater Townships.

District 3 would be made up of Union, Bethel, Batavia, Sherwood and Matteson Townships. District 4 would be Gilead, Ovid, Noble, Kinderhook and Bronson Townships.

District 5 would consist of Quincy, Butler, Algansee and California Townships.

The Commission was using information from the 2020 U.S. Census to make their decision. The figures showed that Branch County had a slight decrease in population from the 2010 Census to 44,862 people.


>> News Archive